Friday, March 28, 2014

BLOG TOUR: The Collector of Dying Breaths by M.J. Rose

"It is with irony now, forty years later, to think that if I had not been called a murderer on the most frightening night of my life, there might not be any perfume in Paris today. And that scent—to which I gave my all and which gave me all the power and riches I could have hoped for—is at the heart of why now it is I who call myself a murderer."  

From The Collector of Dying Breaths

"Perfume puts the finishing touch to elegance - a detail that subtly underscores the look, an invisible extra that completes a woman's personality. Without it there is something missing." ―Gianni Versace 

Publication Date: April 8, 2014
Atria Books
Hardcover; 384p
ISBN-10: 1451621531

Tour Hashtag: #DyingBreathsTour


From one of America’s most imaginative storytellers comes a passionate tale of love and treachery, spanning the days of
Catherine de Medici’s court to the twenty-first century and starring a woman drawn back, time and again, to the past.
In 1533, an Italian orphan with an uncanny knack for creating fragrance is plucked from poverty to become Catherine de Medici’s perfumer. To repay his debt, over the years RenĂ© le Florentine is occasionally called upon to put his vast knowledge to a darker purpose: the creation of deadly poisons used to dispatch the Queen’s rivals.

But it’s RenĂ©’s other passion—a desire to reanimate a human breath, to bring back the lives of the two people whose deaths have devastated him—that incites a dangerous treasure hunt five centuries later. That’s when Jac L’Etoile—suffering from a heartache of her own—becomes obsessed with the possibility of unlocking Rene’s secret to immortality.

Soon Jac’s search reconnects her with Griffin North, a man she’s loved her entire life. Together they confront an eccentric heiress whose art collection rivals many museums and who is determined to keep her treasures close at hand, not just in this life but in her next.

Set in the forest of Fontainebleau, crisscrossing the lines between the past and the present, M.J. Rose has written a mesmerizing tale of passion and obsession. This is a gothic tale perfect for fans of Anne Rice, Deborah Harkness, and Diana Galbadon.

Praise for The Collector of Dying Breaths

“History, mystery, ambition, lust, love, death and the timeless quest for immortality…a riveting tale of suspense.” – B.A.Shapiro, New York Times bestselling author of The Art Forger

“Mysterious, magical, and mythical…what a joy to read!” – Sara Gruen, New York Times bestselling author.

My Review:

“The Collector of Dying Breaths” is a sweet love story with some very intriguing twists. I liked that the mysterious aspect of the novel is introduced early, the reader is kept guessing, and as you get closer to the end, you’re definitely on the edge of your seat with some of the twists that take place! I really liked that the point of view switched between Rene in the 16th century and Jac in the 21st century. I’m usually not interested in reading novels that have a paranormal aspect to them, but the paranormal was introduced so subtly that it helped to make it more believable for me.  Jac’s story is great, and I love how the author created such a believable and interesting personality with her. I also loved her connection with Griffin, it literally stands the test of time and is so sweet that as a reader you really care about them and are rooting for them to make it. Also, the overall intrigue of any novel dealing with the De Medici family is fascinating, and it really brought the historical aspect of the novel to life for me, which was definitely my favorite part.

I wish that more time was spent on Rene’s life. The majority of the novel is spent in the present, and as a historical fiction fan, I wish more time would have been spent describing his life in Catherine De Medici’s court. I was able to get lost in time while reading the parts of the novel that took place during that time period, and I definitely would have enjoyed reading more about it.

Overall this was a great read. I loved the historical fiction aspect of the novel, and I also really enjoyed the intrigue. I was able to suspend my disbelief when it came to the paranormal aspects of the novel, and I ended up really liking the paranormal parts of the novel. I would defnitely recommend this novel to anyone interested in paranormal fiction or in historical fiction.

I give this novel a FIVE out of FIVE stars.

Buy the Book

About the Author

M.J. Rose is the international best selling author of fourteen novels and two non-fiction books on marketing. Her fiction and non-fiction has appeared in many magazines and reviews including Oprah Magazine. She has been featured in the New York Times, Newsweek, Time, USA Today and on the Today Show, and NPR radio. Rose graduated from Syracuse University, spent the ’80s in advertising, has a commercial in the Museum of Modern Art in NYC and since 2005 has run the first marketing company for authors – The television series PAST LIFE, was based on Rose’s novels in the Renincarnationist series. She is one of the founding board members of International Thriller Writers and runs the blog- Buzz, Balls & Hype. She is also the co-founder of and

Rose lives in CT with her husband the musician and composer, Doug Scofield, and their very spoiled and often photographed dog, Winka.

For more information on M.J. Rose and her novels, please visit her website. You can also find her on FacebookTwitter and Goodreads.

No comments:

Post a Comment